The Hanseatic Museum is one of the oldest wooden buildings in Bergen, furnished in 18th century style and shows the life of the Hanseatic merchants.
The Hanseatic Museum on Bryggen in Bergen will close October 1st 2018 for 6 years due to restoration work. The Hanseatic Museum will relocate to Schøtstuene, which forms part of the Hanseatic Museum. Schøtstuene will open with new exhibitions from 1 May 2019, in which both the history of the Hanseatic League and Bryggen as well as the exciting ongoing restoration process at the Hanseatic Museum will be conveyed.
The main building of the museum, Finnegården, was built in 1704 and has served as a museum since 1872. The museum is inscribed on UNESCO’s World Heritage List, and after almost one and a half centuries after the opening of the museum, the building will undergo extensive restoration work from October 1st 2018 to the spring of 2024.
Schøtstuene were the assembly rooms of the Hanseatics and have been part of the Hanseatic Museum since 1938. The Schøtstuene complex is comprised of four assembly rooms and two cookhouses. During the restoration work, you will be able to enjoy new exhibitions at Schøtstuene. A new insight into the Hanseatics’ lives and history on Bryggen will be available, in addition to the opportunity to follow the exciting restoration process. A unique medieval ruin, hidden underneath Schøtstuene, has been made visible through the newly installed glass floor and has its own exhibition.
|* Price from|